Utah Emissions Inspections

Utah State Law requires that vehicle emissions tests are performed every 2 years for vehicles that are less than 6 years old.

Vehicles with odd model years do not require emissions tests in odd years, and vehicles with even model years do not require them in even years. Emissions inspections must be performed no more than two months before you renew your vehicle’s registration. Emission certificates must be submitted to the appropriate DMV office to complete registration.

2021 Emission Inspection Requirements

tailpipes on a carVehicle Model Year Emission Inspection

  • 2021 Not required
  • 2020 Not required
  • 2019 Required
  • 2018 Not required
  • 2017 Required
  • 2016 Not required
  • 2015 to 1968 Required
  • 1968 and older Not required

There are a few exceptions to these requirements. Electric, off-highway, and vintage or custom vehicles are exempt from these inspection requirements in Salt Lake County. New vehicles with the Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin, and motorcycles or motor-driven cycles are also exempt in Salt Lake County.

Time for an emissions check?

Come into Master Muffler and we’ll take care of that for you.

Get an Estimate
Find a Location
Request an Appointment

The Importance of Emission Inspections

It may not seem like it, but emissions tests are incredibly important for protecting the environment. Motor vehicles are one of the leading causes of air pollution—and in Utah, we have to deal with a lot of pollution especially during the winter thanks to inversion.

Vehicles can release dangerous pollutants, like hydrocarbons and carbon monoxide, into the air. To combat this the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) put strict emissions standards in place to keep tailpipe emissions under control. Following these guidelines is important for reducing the negative impact vehicles have on the environment and helping to improve the air quality.

Cutting back on these pollutants is especially important for residents of Salt Lake County. A study found that Salt Lake City ranks seventh in the country for worst air quality. The pollution emitted from our vehicles, especially idling cars, contributes significantly to the terrible air quality. Taking steps to lower those emissions is important in saving our air and environment.

Getting your emissions tested as required by Utah State Law is an easy way to help. You can also stop letting your car idle for more than two minutes and if your check engine light comes on, you should bring it to a trusted mechanic to diagnose the issue.

Signs To Watch For

If your check engine light is on, your car will not pass inspection. Before doing any testing, any issues involving the check engine light must be addressed. If your check engine light is on, our full-service shop can quickly diagnose the problem and repair it for you, before performing the state inspection.

Passing Your Emissions Inspection

Every vehicle’s engine gives off emissions, so to lower the number of pollutants released the EPA put new regulations into place. These regulations include emission inspections and creating guidelines for vehicle manufacturers to follow when designing new vehicles. Emission tests ensure that your vehicle is not releasing more pollutants than allowed by the EPA.

  • If you pass your inspection, you are free to register your vehicle. If you fail, you may need to have repairs performed on your vehicle to help it pass the inspection.

There are a few reasons why your car may have failed the test. There could be issues with your vehicle’s catalytic converter, ignition timing, fuel system, or exhaust gas recirculation. Contaminated engine oil can also cause your vehicle to fail. The cause could also be as simple as a loose gas cap. Your mechanic will be able to help diagnose the issue so you can figure out how to repair it.

  • If you failed your inspection, there is no reason to consider getting a second opinion. The testing procedure is absolutely reliable.
Not the closest location? Find one near you